Suite for Brass Quintet


Brass Quintet ●  2015  ●  Length: 14′


SKU: N/A Category:



I. Fanfare
II. Lament
III. Jig


Program Note

At the time I was composing Suite for Brass Quintet, I was listening to a lot of medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque music, and I had those harmonies, characters, and forms stuck in my head. I decided to let those genres be the major influence for this piece, so I took three traditional styles – fanfare, lament, and jig – and made each a movement. The celebratory “Fanfare” incorporates open fifths, “Lament” a mournful tune, and “Jig” the traditional lively dance rhythm. But like many composers who have adopted these forms over the centuries, I have filtered them through my compositional lens to give them melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic flair not found in the original forms.

Additional information


Score and parts, paper copy, Score and parts, PDF, Score only, paper copy, Score only, PDF