Flute 1, 2

Oboe 1, 2

Clarinet in B 1, 2

Bassoon 1, 2

Horn in F 1, 2, 3, 4

Trumpet in B 1, 2

Trombone 1, 2

Bass Trombone



Percussion 1 (bass drum, xylophone, tom-toms)

Percussion 2 (snare drum, triangle, suspended cymbal)

Violin I

Violin II



Double Bass


Michigan State University Concert Orchestra – February 20, 2020

Program Note

      Concerto for Audience was commissioned by James Brinkmann as an interactive work for audience and orchestra. In its original form, Concerto for Audience has three movements by three composers, with Evan Snyder and Spencer Arias having written movements Aria and The Score, respectively. Audience members are invited to make music along with the orchestra and even be featured soloists in this work. My movement, Pulse, has an emphasis on rhythm.